Organized in 1986, the Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame honors our own heroes and legends, spanning the rich history of sports achievement in the Lake Michigan shoreline area anchored by Ludington to the North and Grand Haven to the south.
    The Hall of Fame exhibit, located in downtown Muskegon on the concourse level of the L.C. Walker Arena, features a fascinating collection of artifacts, photos and commemorative plaques honoring the area's sports heritage. Displays highlight the accomplishments of the over 100 sports notables enshrined over the last 30 years.
Inductees include Phil Baldwin , who fought on the 1960 Olympic boxing team with Muhammad Ali, then known as Cassius Clay; Earl Morrall, a Super Bowl quarterback in the National Football League; Sally Sessions, one of the 13 founding members of the Ladies Professional Golf Association; Bennie Oosterbaan, one of only two athletes honored as a three-time All-American in football at the University of Michigan; Sherm Poppen, the inventor of the Snurfer, the board that evolved into the snowboard;   Donna Cook & Doris Cook, sisters who played in the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League and many more.
     Beside the expected sports of baseball, football, basketball and hockey, sports as diverse as boxing, with world lightweight contender Kenny Lane and speed roller skating, with
Kenny Sutton, a two-time gold medalist at the Pan-American games, are represented.
    Two Scholar-Athletes, one male and one female, are honored annually at the hall's annual induction banquet hosted in June.  A member of the community also is selected for his or her dedication to the sports community with the organization's Distinguished Service Award.
    Take time to explore the site and learn about the West Michigan's incredible sports history!
Honored Members
Click here to see inductees by Sport
Dennis Adama  Joe Kastelic  Cal Tatum
Curtis Adams Ike Kepford Cliff Taylor
Tony Annese Mark Konecny Dave Taylor
Howard Bailey Tom Kresnak Mike Teeter
 Karel Bailey Pete Kutches Jack Tighe
Phil Baldwin Moose Lallo Bob Tombari
Dave Boertman Kenny Lane Rich Tompkins
Annette Bohach Bob Ludwig Trinity Townsend
Bill Bos William McCall Ken VanDyke
Dan Brink Ossie McCarty Dave VerMerris
Ed Burton Gil McKellen Gene Visscher
M.C. Burton Gordon McKellen Elmer Walcott
Jock Callander Bryan McLay Jack Weisenburger
Ray Castenholtz Tom McShannock Dave Whitsell
Roger Chiaverini Glenn Meyers John Williams
Gus Cohrs Dave Michayluk Bill Wolski
Jerry Collins Earl Morrall Bob Zuppke
Donna Cook Bobby Morse  
Doris Cook Jim Morse Distinguished Service Award Winners:
Paul Dekker Don Mosley
Russell DeVette Jim Neal Cyndi Blair
Dick Dolack John Nedeau Ralph Burr
Ed Douma George Neitering Leo Campbell
Dusty Fairfield Dave Nelson Ray Cioe
Cathy Fitzpatrick Bennie Oosterbaan Jack Crowell
Jerry Fitzpatrick Chuck Pavlich Les David
Ira Flagstead Rob Peel Jim Dodson
William "Flop" Flora Pete Petroskey Pete Gawkowski
Gary Ford Tonya Place Jerry Harris
Ron Gaffner Sherm Poppen Mark Jastrzembski
Hillard Gates Harry Potter Mike Knight
Jim Goorman Dan Raymond Elsa Lowe
Sonny Grandelius C. Leo Redmond Charles Marsh
Mark Grimmette John Regeczi Lyle Moran
Paul Griffin Carl Russ Jim Moyes
Lynn Hahn Jack Schugars Earl O'Brien
Jimmy Henderson Frank Secory Jake Outwin
Mike Holmes Sally Sessions Tanya Place
Frank Howell Denise Sharps Jerry Porter
Mark Hughes Steve Sieradzki Barney Sutherland
John Huizenga Steve Sluka Mart Tardani
Jim Johnson Roy Smith Bill Tilton
Oscar E. "Okie" Johnson Paul Soper Dick Topp
Jack Sprague Smitty Vanderplow
Tom Johnson Fred Stevens Nelson Volz
  Fred Storck Team Doctors with
20 years of service
  Milo Sukup
Kenny Sutton  
Honored Teams
1927 Muskegon Big Red football team
1941-42 North Muskegon Norsemen football team
1945-46-47 Muskegon Heights Tiger football teams
1951 Muskegon Big Red football team
1955-56 & 1956-57 Muskegon Heights Tiger basketball teams
 1960-61 Grand Haven Buccaneer baseball teams
1961-62 Muskegon Zephyrs Hockey team
1970-71 & 1971-72 Shelby Tiger basketball teams
1977-78 & 1978-79 Muskegon Heights Tiger Basketball Teams
1984-85 & 1985-86 Newaygo Lions Girls Basketball Teams
1994 Holton Red Devils Volleyball Team
Muskegon Area Sports Hall of Fame - Our Own Heroes and Legends
Welcome to the